New Australia Council Board Appointed

The Hon Tony Burke MP, Minister for the Arts has confirmed the inaugural members of the new Board of the Australia Council for the Arts.

The appointments were made pursuant to the Council’s new legislation – the Australia Council Act 2013 - which commenced on Monday 1 July. The 12 members of the inaugural Board under the new Act are:

Mr Rupert Myer AM – Chair, Australia Council for the Arts; previously Chair, National Gallery of Australia, the Opera Australia Capital Fund, Commonwealth Inquiry into the Contemporary Visual Arts and Craft Sector and Kaldor Public Arts Projects; previously Trustee, National Gallery of Victoria; previously Board Member, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney; Currently Deputy Chair, Myer Holdings Ltd.

Ms Robyn Archer AO - Deputy Chair, Australia Council for the Arts; Creative Director, Centenary of Canberra; celebrated singer, writer, director, artistic director.

Mr Tony Grybowski – CEO, Australia Council for the Arts; previously General Manager, Australian Youth Orchestra; previously Executive, Musica Viva; Sydney Symphony Orchestra; teacher and musician.

Mr Waleed Aly - Award-winning author; Broadcaster, currently host of Big Ideas on ABC TV; Academic and lecturer in politics at Monash University; Rock musician in the band Robot Child.

Ms Lee-Ann Buckskin – Chair, ATSIA Board, Australia Council of the Arts; Manager, Indigenous Arts and Culture program, Carclew Youth Arts Adelaide; Member, SA Museums Aboriginal Advisory Committee; previously Program Coordinator for the Indigenous Program, Adelaide and Brisbane Festivals of Art.

Mr Adrian Collette AM – Former CEO, Opera Australia for 16 years; currently Executive Director, Engagement and Partnerships, University of Melbourne; former Member, Victorian Council for the Arts; Life Member, Australian Entertainment Industry Association’s Executive Council; previously MD, Reed Books.

Mr Khoa Do – Film director, producer and screenwriter - nominated for AFI Awards and shortlisted for an Academy Award; International keynote speaker; Community and youth worker and leader; Young Australian of the Year 2005.

Professor Matthew Hindson AM – Chair, Music Board of the Australia Council for the Arts; Senior lecturer in & Media Technology and Arts Music, Sydney Conservatorium of Music; celebrated composer, author, artistic director and academic.

Ms Mary-Ellen King – Board member, Perth International Arts Festival; previously General Manager, Melbourne International Arts Festival; Executive, Victorian Arts Centre; Melbourne Symphony Orchestra; Melbourne manager, Opera Australia; Perth Concert Hall. Currently Chief Operating Officer Community, Bethanie Group.

Ms Sophie Mitchell - Director, Expressions Dance Company (formerly Chairman); Trustee, Queensland Performing Arts Trust; Director, Corporate & Special Projects, RBS Morgans; Director, Silver Chef Limited; Member, Australian Government Takeovers Panel.

Ms Samantha Mostyn – Chair, Community Partnerships Committee, Australia Council for the Arts; President, Australian Museum Trust; Board member, Sydney Theatre Company; Non-executive director Virgin Blue, Transurban and Citibank Australia; AFL Commissioner; Member, NSW Climate Change Council.

Mr Tim Orton – Chair, Geelong Performing Arts Centre; Chair, Rhodes Trust Australia; Executive board member, Committee for Melbourne; Managing Director, Nous Group; previously Managing Director of Deakin Australia; Consultant, McKinsey and Company - London and New York.