Osmotherly Award – Call for Nominations

The Osmotherly award is an annual award presented by Ausdance Educators Queensland to a dance educator whose work has earned them a distinguished reputation in a school, a district or across the State of Queensland. The award is named in honour of Robert Osmotherly, who in 1986 ran the first teacher trainer course for dance specialists in Queensland. Robert had a deep ability to inspire students of dance.

Previous recipients of the Osmotherly Award include Julie Chenery (2006), Sue Fox, Barb Snook (2007), Maggi Sietsma (2008), Julie Dyson, Jude Smith (2009), Kristin Bell (2010), Brian Lucas (2011) Helen Mullins (2012), Angela Pratt (2013) and Sharon Boughen (2014).

Guidelines for Nominations:
Individuals nominated for the Osmotherly Award should have carried out their service to dance education within a primary, secondary or tertiary university system, and/or in the capacity of a teacher, mentor, advocate or researcher.

Nominations must include:

  • Name of Nominator (must be a member of Ausdance Queensland)
  • Contact Details of Nominator
  • Name of Nominee
  • Contact Details of Nominee
  • Reason for Nomination (MAX 500 words)

Please send your completed nomination form to aeq@ausdanceqld.org.au

Nominations close Friday 21 October 2016.

About Ausdance Educators Queensland
Ausdance Educators Queensland is a voluntary group of dance teachers who work across primary, middle and senior secondary schools, from the independent, catholic and state sectors. Collectively they form a strong support base for Queensland’s teachers of dance in schools. AEQ also represents Queensland’s teachers at national dance education meetings and forums and is represented on the Queensland Advocates for Arts Education (QAAE) committee.

AEQ hosts workshops and meetings to discuss current issues for dance education. If you have a proposal for the group, we would encourage your ideas, feedback and support via their Facebook page.

More about Robert Osmotherly